Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup

20120109-202912.jpg

Ok, first off….I need to apologize for two things…

One. After falling asleep in my 3 year old’s bed whilst trying my darndest to get him to sleep, I was awoken to my 9 month old screaming; apparently he was having a nightmare that did not want to end immediately. So, I fell asleep in my bed holding him, all the while dreaming of writing this post for you.

It was supposed to be up, right here, for you all, last night.

It wasn’t. I’m sorry.

Two. I need to say I am sorry for the quality of these pictures. While my husband is an amazing photographer, I am not. When the camera is around, I can sort of take pictures, however, when he is not, and the lens has been detached from the body, I don’t go near it. Hence the not-so-pretty pictures you see before you.

After all this, can we still be friends? I have a slight feeling you might want to after eating this soup!!!!

This was an off the cuff, on a whim meal.

Every few months I take my family on an extreme whirlwind eating adventure that lasts about a week. Inevitably, we always find our way back to “normal” (whatever that is), but for that week, they are forced into whatever I make for them.

This time, it was not veganism, or raw, or eating only meat (I know, I know…my quest for the best way to eat does not make any logical sense….) this time, I decided I wanted the challenge of trying to not only live off of $60 a week for groceries, but actually make really yummy food.

We’ll see how long this one lasts.

Nonetheless, I decided to go and buy black beans in bulk; they were like 1.69 a pound!!! And this beautiful goodness is what I ended up with.

Wait for it…..

Here’s what you do

Rinse beans and soak in a large pot overnight or for about 5-6 hours

In a slow cooker (set to low), throw your pre-soaked beans…

The Ortega Chili’s….

The Garlic….

The Onions…

The Tomatoes and Water…

The Broth or Bullion Cube….Wow this picture is exceptionally bad…

Blurry Chili Powder…

Cumin….

Cayenne Pepper…

The Salts and Pepper (forgot the picture…oops)

Now give it a stir, put the lid on and go about your life for about 8 hours (or 4 if you set the crock put on high)

Come home, take in that incredible aroma that just wafted up to your nose….

Ladle out some soup….

Add your garnishes

and perhaps a warm tortilla with butter….

Sit down, relax and enjoy every minute of that soup! You slaved all day after all…

Ingredients:

4 Cups Dried Black Beans

1 4 oz Can Diced Ortega Chilis

1 12.5 oz Can Southwestern Style Diced Tomatoes or Ro*Tel®

5-6 Cups Water

1 Can Chicken Broth (or one extra cup of water and 1 Chicken Boulion Cube)

1/2-3/4  Onion Diced

2 Large or 4 Small Garlic Cloves Chopped

2 Heaping tsp Chili Powder

1 Heaping tsp Cumin

1/8 tsp Cayenne Pepper

1/4 tsp Black Pepper

1/4 tsp Seasoned Salt

1/4 tsp Garlic Salt

Avocado

Sour Cream

Grated Cheese

Preparation:

Soak Beans overnight or for about 5-6 hours.

Place all ingredients into a crock pot (set to low for 8 hours or high for 4).

If most of the water has been reduced, you can add another cup or two and simmer for another 30 minutes.

Serve with Garnishes and Enjoy!

Leave a comment